CRI Differences in T8 Lamps

October 1, 2012

These four types of T8 lamps show a variety of color rendering index or CRI.

Color rendering index (CRI) is a light’s ability to produce all the colors of the spectrum. This quantitative measure is used for lighting fixtures to determine how closely the light can produce the colors and a bright white light.

T8 lamps, the efficient counterpart to the obsolete T12 lights, have four types of CRI: 835, 841, 850, and 865. You can see the differences in the photo on the right.

The lamps with a higher CRI provide a bright white light, and the ones with a lower CRI do not. Because of the varying light differences, all four lamps are ideal for a variety of applications. And with their 5-year warranty, require very little maintenance.

For example, the CRI 865 lamp would be great for offices to increase productivity. The CRI 835 lamp shines well for bathrooms, or any area that requires a soft glow.

Do your lighting fixtures look like these? Consider more efficient lighting with T8 lamps and ballasts.

Leave a Reply

What Our Clients are Saying

  • “Since the installation we cannot say enough great things about [the] company. Not only were installers professional and efficient, but there was no interference with our day to day production during installation. We immediately have noticed a savings in our energy bills.”
    -Justin Kelly, Tompkins Industries Inc.
    Learn More
  • “Worldwide Energy was very professional through the whole process. They handled everything from start to finish. I would highly recommend Worldwide Energy to anyone looking to improve their lighting and control utility costs. They take care of everything, it’s easy.”
    -Shawn Wakeman, Frank Ancona Honda
    Learn More
  • “Our project was completed in a timely manner with excellent results. All changes requested were completed and the crew was willing to do whatever it took to make us happy.”
    -Bill Keefer, Westlake Ace Hardware
    Learn More
  • “After considering several companies, we selected Worldwide Energy to do our lighting retrofit, primarily because their proposal was total turnkey and provided the most complete level of service.”
    -Mike Gonnerman, ROM Corporation
    Learn More
Ⓒ 2022 Worldwide Energy

Stay up to date with us

apartmentuserscrossmenucheckmark-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram